St. Joseph County Primary Election Voting Information

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, Indiana's Primary Election Day has been moved to June 2.

St. Joseph County voters are encouraged to vote by mail. If you have requested and received an absentee ballot, the ballot return deadline is June 2 by noon. Ballots must be in the Election Board Office by the deadline.

If you were unable to request an absentee ballot before the deadline, you can still vote in-person on Election Day from 6:00am to 6:00pm at a limited number of voting centers throughout St. Joseph County. There are no polling places in New Carlisle for this election.

What's on the Ballot? Although former vice president Joe Biden is the presumptive Democratic nominee to challenge incumbent Donald Trump for president in the fall, there are a few contested races of interest to New Carlisle voters.

Congresswoman Jackie Walorski is seeking re-election as Indiana's District 2 Representative in the United States House. She is challenged on the Republican side by Christopher Glenn Davis. On the Democratic side, Ellen Marks and Patricia (Pat) Hackett are competing to be on the ballot in the fall.

Both parties have a contested primary for St. Joseph County Commissioner District 2. The district encompasses the western and southern portions of the county, including New Carlisle and Olive Township.

Incumbent Dave Thomas faces a primary challenge from former South Bend Common Council member Oliver Davis. On the Republican side, New Carlisle Town Council Vice President Jordon Budreau faces another former South Bend Common Council member in Derek Dieter.

Voting Centers There are 12 polling locations in St. Joseph County approved by the Election Board for the 2020 Primary Election. Citizens can contact the Voter Registration Office at 574-235-9521 with any questions regarding the best location to vote.

  • Charles Black Center, 3419 W Washington St., South Bend, IN 46619

  • Ivy Tech, S B Campus, 220 Dean Johnson Blvd, South Bend, IN 46601

  • IBEW Local #153, 56475 Peppermint Rd, South Bend, IN 46619

  • Mishawaka-Penn Library Harris Branch, 51446 Elm Rd, Granger, IN 46530

  • Clay High School, 19131 Darden Rd, South Bend, IN 46637

  • Mishawaka Annex, 219 Lincoln Way W, Mishawaka, IN 46544

  • Palmer Community Complex, 601 N Michigan St, Lakeville, IN 46536

  • Schmucker Middle School, 56045 Bittersweet Rd, Mishawaka, IN 46545

  • Jackson Intermediate Center, 5001 Miami Rd, South Bend, IN 46614

  • Lasalle Academy, 2701 Elwood Ave, South Bend, IN 46628

  • John Young, 1801 N Main St., Mishawaka, IN 46545

  • Century Center, 120 Doctor Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, South Bend, IN 46601

Recent Headlines

© 2016 by The New Carlisle Gazette