Recipes, Etc.

We are focusing this week on the 10-year members in LaPorte County 4-H. One of the 10-year members is Jaden Horvath, who achieved this goal.

Jaden is the daughter of Erica and Joel Horvath and is a graduate of LaPorte High School. She will be attending Purdue North West this fall and will major in Health Sciences.

During her years in 4-H she acquired many life skills that will follow her in her future years. 4-H has given her the opportunity to meet and work with so many people.

She was Supreme Champion in 2017 in dairy cattle and was involved with sheep, goats and rabbits, along with foods, fine arts, child development and photography.

Jaden is sharing with us her favorite recipe.

Double Blueberry Muffins (serves about 12 muffins)

Ingredients: 1 stick of unsalted, softened butter 1 cup plus 2 tbsp sugar 2 eggs 1 tsp vanilla extract 2 tsp baking powder 1/4 tsp salt 2 ½ C fresh or thawed frozen blueberries 2 C flour 1/2 cup milk 1/4 tsp cinnamon

Directions: Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Grease a muffin tin or use paper liners. Using mixer, cream the butter until smooth. Add 1 cup of the sugar and mix. Add the eggs, vanilla, baking powder, and salt and mix. In a shallow bowl, mash 3/4 cup of the blueberries with the back of a fork and add to the batter and mix. At low speed add 1/2 the flour, then 1/2 the milk and mix. Repeat with remaining flour and milk. Fold in the remaining 1 3/4 cups whole blueberries by hand until well mixed.

In a separate small bowl, mix the remaining 2 tablespoons sugar and cinnamon. Fill muffin cups to 3/4 full with batter. Sprinkle cinnamon-sugar over the muffins and bake until golden brown, about 25-30 minutes. Let cool about 30 minutes before turning out of the pan.

Etc. — Along with Jaden, the following 4H members from the New Carlisle area were 10-year members: Megan Boyd, Lily Carmel, Brandon Corbett, Jacob Corbett, Ben Johnson, Drake Kluge, Samantha Leiter, Bailey Lenig, James Lewis, Jacob Mitchell, Hannah Nelson, Gabe Nowatzke, Bryce Perry, Morgan Phillips, Nicholas Ryan, Brandon Stanish, Mason Taylor, and Lane Thomas. Congratulations to all!

Recent Headlines

© 2016 by The New Carlisle Gazette