Unity Foundation of La Porte County Announces 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipients

Two outstanding La Porte County students have been named recipients of full tuition, four-year scholarships as Unity Foundation of La Porte County 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

Lily Carmel and Abigail Roberts will receive tuition to an accredited public or private Indiana college or university of their choice, and an annual $900 stipend for required books and equipment.

Lily Carmel will graduate with academic honors from New Prairie High School, having taken several advanced placement and honors courses. She has demonstrated leadership and initiative through her consistent involvement in school, community, and faith related activities.

She is an active member of the National Honor Society, has shown leadership as a camp counselor, and has played in regional community bands. She is section leader in her high school marching band. Lily is a 10 year member of 4H. She looks forward to pursuing a career as a teacher.

Abigail Roberts will graduate from La Porte High School with an academic honors diploma, including having taken several dual credit and advanced placement level courses.

Abigail has participated in the Mayor’s Youth Council and Principal’s Advisory Council. She is an active member of National Honor Society, Girls Reserves, and Student Council; she also volunteers in a variety of programs. Abigail competes in swimming and dance and also works part-time. Abigail plans to pursue a career as a physician’s assistant.

Unity Foundation received nearly 100 applications for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship from students throughout the county. Applicants were judged on their academic achievement, service to others, extracurricular activities and, to a lesser extent, financial need.

A committee comprised of La Porte County residents reviewed the applications, not knowing the applicants’ names until after the finalists were selected. The 10 finalists were then interviewed, and nominees were submitted to the Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. for the final selection.

Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state. Since 1992, Unity Foundation of La Porte County has served donors, nonprofits and local communities. As La Porte County’s community foundation, it manages approximately $31 million in assets, administers more than 325 charitable funds, and has distributed approximately $16 million through direct grants and scholarships. The Council on Foundations has deemed Unity Foundation in compliance with all Indiana and national ethical and operating standards for community foundations.

Unity Foundation’s mission is to strengthen La Porte County now and forever by: building permanent endowments; providing leadership; offering philanthropic vehicles for everyone; and, being a catalyst for social and economic vitality. For more information, please visit www.uflc.net or call 219-879-0327.

Recent Headlines

© 2016 by The New Carlisle Gazette