What's on the Ballot in New Carlisle?

October 29, 2018

Americans will go to the polls on Tuesday, November 6 for the 2018 midterm elections.  While the national focus remains on the bitter battle for control of both houses of Congress, there are several important issues at the local level for voters to consider.

In addition to the 2nd Congressional District race and Indiana Senate race, voters in New Carlisle will seat two members of the Town Council. The New Prairie community will also be faced with one contested race for school board.

Polls are open in Indiana from 6:00am to 6:00pm on Election Day.  For information on early voting hours, polling locations, and what’s on the ballot in your precinct, visit www.indianavoters.com.

Here is what voters within the Town of New Carlisle will see on their ballot:


State Constitutional Question
Shall Article 10, Section 5 of the Constitution of the State of Indiana be amended to require the General Assembly to adopt balanced budgets for state government that do not exceed estimated revenues unless a supermajority of two-thirds of the members of the House of Representatives and two-thirds of the Senate vote to suspend the requirement?


United States Senator
Mike Braun (Republican), Joe Donnelly (Democratic), Lucy M Brenton (Libertarian), Nathan Altman (Independent), Christopher Fischer (Independent)


Secretary of State
Connie Lawson (Republican), Jim Harper (Democratic), Mark W Rutherford (Libertarian)


Auditor of State
Tera Klutz (Republican), Joselyn Whitticker (Democratic), John Schick (Libertarian)


Treasurer of the State
Kelly Mitchell (Republican), John C Aguilera (Democratic)


U.S. Representative in Congress, 2nd Congressional District
Jackie Walorski (Republican), Mel Hall (Democractic), Richard Wolf (Independent)


State House of Representatives, District 8
Ryan M Dvorak (Democratic)


Judge of Probate Court
James N (Jim) Fox (Republican), Jason Cichowicz (Democratic)


County Prosecutor
Kenneth P Cotter (Democratic)


Clerk of the Circuit Court
Rita Glenn (Democratic)


County Auditor
Mike Hamann (Democratic)


County Sheriff
Paul Jonas (Republican), Bill Redman (Democratic)


County Assessor
Rosemary R Mandrici (Democratic)


Olive Township Trustee

Will Miller (Republican)


Olive Township Board (Vote for not more than 3)
Carol Hesch (Democratic), Tom Keen (Democratic)


Town Council New Carlisle (Vote for not more than 2)
Samantha Rush (Republican), Aaron J Rypma (Republican), Daniel J Caruso Sr (Democratic), Marcy Kauffman (Democratic)


New Prairie United School Board, District 2
Allen Willamson


New Prairie United School Board, At- Large
Raymond M Borkowski  Jr, Jason DeMeyer


Judicial Retention (Shall the following judges be retained in office)
Geoffrey G Slaughter, Robert R (Bob) Altice, Jenny Pitts Manier, Margot Fisher Reagan, Jeffrey L Sanford

Note: Voting a straight party ballot will not count toward offices in which multiple selections are allowed. Therefore, to vote for Town Council for instance, you must make individual marks in those sections.

Please reload

Recent Headlines

September 14, 2020

September 14, 2020

September 14, 2020

September 14, 2020

September 14, 2020

September 14, 2020

Please reload

Please reload


© 2016 by The New Carlisle Gazette