Baseball State Tournament Pairings Revealed

A field of 384 teams will begin play later this month as the pairings for the 51st Annual IHSAA Baseball State Tournament were announced on Friday, May 5 in Indianapolis.

Host schools will announce playing schedules in the days to come which will then be added to the online brackets at

Sectional competition begins Wednesday, May 24, and continues through Monday, May 29 (Memorial Day), with the 64 champions advancing to a four‐team regional on Saturday, June 3.

Two semifinal games will be played early that day at each site with the two winners returning for a championship game that evening.

The 16 regional winners will be assigned to four semi‐state sites and play a single game on Saturday, June 10, with the winners moving into their respective state championship game.

This year’s four state championship games, scheduled for Friday, June 16 and Saturday, June 17, will be played at Victory Field in Indianapolis, home of the Triple‐A franchise Indianapolis Indians.

SECTIONAL 19 at Jimtown (Times Listed Eastern)

Wednesday, May 24 G1: Culver Academies vs. Marian, 5:00pm G2: Jimtown vs. S.B. Washington, 7:30pm

Saturday, May 27 G3: Winner of G1 vs. Winner of G2, 12:00pm G4: New Prairie vs. S.B. St. Joseph, 2:30pm

Monday, May 29 Championship: Winner of G3 vs. Winner of G4, 2:00pm

Admission: $6 per session; $10 season (Season tickets may be provided for tourneys with three or more sessions). Home Team: The second‐named team in each pairing is the designated home team except when they advance by virtue of a bye. Exception: In six‐team sectionals, the teams drawing the bye will play in the second semifinal game (Game 4) and will be the visitor in the championship game.

Recent Headlines

© 2016 by The New Carlisle Gazette