Record Number of Softball Teams Entered in State Tournament

A record three hundred seventy‐eight (378) teams – one better than 2010 ‐ were drawn and placed into brackets on Friday, April 28 for the start of the 33rd Annual IHSAA Softball State Tournament Series.

Sectional action runs May 22‐27 with the 64 survivors moving into a one‐game regional round on Tuesday, May 30. From there, 32 teams will square off in four‐team semi‐states on Saturday, June 3, with the four state championship games scheduled for Saturday, June 10 at Ben Davis High School in Indianapolis.

Host schools will announce playing schedules in the days to come which will then be added to the online brackets at

No. of Schools Entered: 378 teams. Breakdown by Class: 96 in 4A; 96 in 3A; 97 in 2A; 89 in 1A. Total No. of Games: 374 games in 20 days.

Defending Sectional Champions 3A: Boonville, Connersville, Danville, Fairfield, Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger, Griffith, Hamilton Heights, Jasper, Kankakee Valley, Lebanon, Mishawaka Marian, New Palestine, Norwell, Owen Valley, Silver Creek, Western.

Sectionals Dates: May 22‐27, 2017. Times: Determined by host school.

Admission: $6 per session; $10 season (Season tickets may be provided for tourneys with three or more sessions).

Home Team: The second‐named team in each pairing is the designated home team except when they advance by virtue of a bye. Exception: In six‐team sectionals, the teams drawing the bye will play in the second semifinal game (Game 4) and will be the visitor in the championship game.

Sectional 19 at South Bend St. Joseph G1: South Bend St. Joseph vs. Culver Academies. G2: New Prairie vs. Mishawaka Marian. G3: Winner of G1 vs. Winner of G2. G4: Jimtown vs. South Bend Washington. Championship: Winner of G3 vs. Winner of G4.

Recent Headlines

© 2016 by The New Carlisle Gazette