National League cruises to ASG victory

NEW CARLISLE - The 10th annual Old Republic Wiffleball League (ORWBL) All-Star Game was held on Thursday, July 7 at Migley Field in New Carlisle. The festivities were dominated by the National League, as the NL defeated their American League counterparts, 21-14. With the victory, the NL representative in the ORWBL World Series will have home-field advantage this August. The best of seven World Series will be a 2-3-2 format. John Premetz of the Cabo Yabos was named the All-Star Game MVP for his performance as the NL's Extra Hitter. Premetz was a late addition to the roster, replacing teammate Grant Duncan as the Yabos required representative. Prior to the All-Star Game, Scott Soos of the New Carlisle Newts won his third consecutive ORWBL Home Run Derby. Soos bested Tony Koch of the Jet City Junkballers in the finals of the bracket format. Soos is the all-time ORWBL career home runs leader with 314 in five seasons.

Recent Headlines

© 2016 by The New Carlisle Gazette