Curtis elected to Indiana Football Hall of Fame

Former New Prairie High School football coach Bart Curtis was recently elected to the Indiana Football Hall of Fame.

Curtis, who is now the head coach at Mishawaka High School, will be inducted on May 20, 2016. From 1997-2007, Curtis roamed the sidelines at Amzie Miller Field, leading the Cougars to an 84-38 record in eleven seasons. He remains the winningest coach in program history.

Curtis led New Prairie to the school’s first two sectional titles in 2004 and 2006. In 2004, the Cougars also claimed a regional crown.

New Prairie also won Northern State Conference championships in those two seasons, snapping Jimtown’s 60-game conference winning streak in 2004.

At Mishawaka, Curtis snapped Penn’s 153-game conference winning streak in 2009 and has won five more sectional titles. He led the Cavemen to the state finals in 2012.

Prior to his stint at New Prairie, Curtis was the head coach at Maconaquah High School. His overall career record is 185-94 in 25 years.

Curtis is the fourth New Prairie head coach to receive the honor, joining Bill Lynch, Floyd Trosper, and Ken Mirer as those enshrined at the Richmond, Ind. museum.

Recent Headlines

© 2016 by The New Carlisle Gazette